Bradley enjoys first Buggy win at Irish Nationals finale


The sixth & final round of the Irish 1:8 Off Road National Championships took place at the all astro turf surface Navan Nitro Nuts over the weekend where outgoing Truggy Champion Bradley Baird ended his debut season in Buggy with his first National race victory in the class. Having TQ’d the event the teenager suffered a flame out on the start line leaving him last but a superb recovery saw the Associated driver battle his way back up through the field. Setting the fastest lap of the race he finally took the lead when the Xray of Barkley Abernethy suffered an engine cut during the penultimate round of fuel stops to win by 2/3rd of a lap. Also driving an Xray, Alan Scroggie completed the podium bringing to a close another successful season of 1:8 Buggy racing in Ireland which saw Losi driver Michael Todd successfully defend his title.


In the Truggy class the title was still to be decided at the season finale between Neil Irwin and Arron Vance. 15-year-old Vance held the advantage in qualifying as he secured TQ honours with his Losi from the Xray of Irwin. In the half hour final, Vance’s chance at the title ended on lap 11 when he was forced to retire leaving Irwin to take the win and the 2010 title. The big battle of the race was the three way battle for second between Oisin O’Briain, Rodger Skelly and Steven McClements. In the end O’Briain took the place from Skelly with the trio all finishing on the same lap.

1:8 Buggy Result
1.(1) Bradley Baird – Associated/RB – 54 laps
2.(7) Barkley Abernethy – Xray/OS Speed – 53
3.(2) Alan Scroggie – Xray/Novarossi – 52
4.(5) Gary Baird – Kyosho/RB – 52
5.(3) Christopher McCauley – Xray/Novarossi – 51
6.(10)Cathal Taffe – Xray/Alpha – 51
7.(9) Vytas – Losi/RB – 50
8.(8) Nick Brooker – Xray/OS Speed – 50
9.(4) Derek McCloskey – Serpent/Mega – 49
10.(6)Andrew White – Hobao/RB – 43

1:8 Truggy Result
1.(2) Neil Irwin – Xray/Novarossi – 37 laps
2.(3) Oisin O’Briain – Losi/Mega – 34
3.(4) Roger Skelly – Losi/RB – 34
4.(5) Steven McClements – Mugen/Novarossi – 34
5.(6) Martin O’Docherty – Hobao/OS – 30
6.(1) Arron Vance – Losi/Novarossi – 11
7.(7) Frank McGoey – CEN/RB – 7
8.(8) Enda O’Donnell – Losi/RB – 2